Photo project: Week 1

Over the past couple of weeks, I have been attending a photography class at Mamaroneck High School.  We were instructed to choose one place that we would shoot each week for 4 weeks to track our progress.  I chose to shoot Rockefeller Center – it’s a place that I always wanted to shoot because of the amazing architecture and the crazy amount of people that always flock to this popular tourist spot.  It’s also around the corner from my office so it was really easy for me to get there at any time of the day.

During my first week shooting in Rock Center, I concentrated on getting comfortable with the layout and taking shots of the main building with my wide angle lens.  I also took the opportunity of taking pictures of people in action.

IMG_1831_LB

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1762_LB

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1805_LB

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1869_LB

3 thoughts on “Photo project: Week 1

  1. I really like the first shot. Made me feel as if I was really there looking through the gardens into the symentry of the buildings. I think the angle was perfect for that and the box in the middle of the plaza drew my interest but did not take away from or overwhelm the architecture. I do like the 3rd picture as well. I like the contrast between the two subjects sitting on the bench totally oblivious to each other. There is so much balance here. The two hedges, the two men – one young and trendy, the other old in a wrinkled suit, love it. I think I would have edited it to maybe blur the tourists in the back and make the color of the tulips really pop. But it is a great picture I think. The bottom picture has lots of elements that make it interesting; it clearly shows the business of NY (I live in a small town and no one rushes here) and I like the NBC building in the back, the color of the truck and I especially like the fire hose spigots in a row and how their colors and repitiveness is the only continuity in the pictures. Maybe shot from another angle could have been better, but your eye for what is interesting is clearly evident. Good job and continue having fun while you take your pictures. It is always amazing what you see through your lens.

Leave a comment